Assault Bodily Injury-Family Member Charge
Are you dealing with an arrest for Assault Bodily Injury-Family Member in Tarrant County? If so, you know you are currently facing a potentially embarrassing outcome that can affect all areas of your life, but did you know it can also prevent you from having your records sealed, having contact with your children and
owning a firearm.
Also, if a second offense ever occurs, regardless how much time has passed, result in up to ten years in prison. These cases are particularly intricate and require a knowledgeable Assault-Family Member Defense Attorney who can prevent one mistake or misunderstanding from ruining your life.
Assault Bodily Injury-Family Member (Assault Bodily Injury-FM) or Domestic Violence?
According to the Texas penal code, assault includes violence or the threat of violence on any person or persons and can be punishable as a misdemeanor to a felony offense, depending on the specifics of the case.
In Texas, domestic violence applies the definition of assault to family members by blood, adoption, foster care or marriage. It also extends to someone who is currently or has been in an intimate relationship with the alleged offender, or anyone who lives in the household.
Domestic violence can include kidnapping, rape, criminal threats and confining someone against their will if the action happens in the home.
It is vital to immediately call an Arlington Defense Attorney for a Tarrant County Assault Bodily Injury-FM arrest because an Assault Bodily Injury-FM arrest and conviction can be made without a witness and with little physical proof.
Punishments for Assault Bodily Injury-Family Member or Domestic Violence
In Arlington, Tarrant County, and throughout all of Texas, Assault Bodily Injury-FM and other Domestic Violence charges are not taken lightly. Punishments for Assault Bodily Injury-FM or Domestic Violence can range from a Class A Misdemeanor, which can include 1 year in jail and up to $4,000 in fines or a combination of both to a first-degree felony with up to 99 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.
Many people do not realize that an Assault Bodily Injury-Family Member conviction in Texas can sometimes require the offender to further pay restitution to their victim on top of their fines and additional punishment. Restitution can include any expense that occurred as a result of the Assault Bodily Injury-FM. This can include medical bills, counseling or even the replacement of property.
What is the Next Step?
The right Assault Bodily Injury-Family Member Defense Attorney can get you the best possible outcome from your ABI-FM charge. An experienced ABI-FM Defense Attorney can get the charge reduced or in some circumstances, dismissed outright.
An experienced Tarrant County Assault Bodily Injury-FM Defense Lawyer may also petition the court for deferred adjudication, allowing you to avoid the sentencing for your crime as long as you comply with the terms of your probation. A good Assault Defense Lawyer can also arrange for community supervision or other options to help you avoid jail time. This is preferable because it allows you to continue to be a free citizen, provided you can follow a few simple guidelines.
In order to have the best possible outcome, maybe even get the charges dismissed, it is vital that you get a good Arlington Assault Bodily Injury-Family Member Defense Lawyer as soon as possible. Call today for the best possible Assault Bodily Injury-Family Member defense against an ABI-FM or domestic violence arrest in Arlington, Tarrant County, Texas.