Can I get my Tarrant County theft case dismissed?
One of the most commons questions asked from a potential client is: “CAN I GET THIS DISMISSED?”
My goal for first-time offenders is to get the best outcome possible, especially one that could lead to having the arrest EXPUNGED from their record. There are lots of options that I can help a person navigate such as: reductions, diversion programs, or dismissals.
Shoplifting, buying or accepting stolen items or writing bad check are all examples of Tarrant theft arrests. Many people feel these are minor convictions but the truth is a theft conviction in Tarrant county can have lifelong repercussions including jail time, hefty fees, limited employment opportunities and additional civil lawsuits.
As a Tarrant County Theft Attorney, I can tell you that many people do not fully understand the weight of a theft conviction until they face sentencing. What may seem like a small case can result in a heavy penalty. A few things to consider:
Texas theft penalties are “enhanceable.” This means that each subsequent conviction results in a stronger penalty than the one before, landing many Tarrant county residents who have been arrested for a prior theft charge in hot water.
Some items carry a felony consequence regardless of their actual worth. These items include but are not limited to: firearms, livestock and some metals.
Under a little known piece of legislation called The Texas Theft Liability Act, alleged theft victims are able to sue the defendant (or in the case of a minor, the parents of the minor) in civil court for thousands of dollars (up to $1000 for the defendant, up to $5000 for the parents of the minor) beyond the value of the stolen item(s).
Furthermore, a theft conviction will inevitably bleed over into your personal life, limiting job or education opportunities long after this small misunderstanding or lapse in judgement is behind you. Only a qualified Tarrant County Criminal Attorney can help you navigate around these pitfalls and I can only help you if you call me in time.
We have covered how penalties for a theft conviction are not always as straightforward as they may seem. Without any extenuating circumstances (and there usually are some), the penalties for Tarrant county theft convictions are as follows.
Class C Misdemeanor Theft
If the value of the property or services stolen is under $50, the punishment for a class C misdemeanor in Texas is a fine of no more than $500, and does not involve any jail time, but may involve countless hours of community service.
Class B Misdemeanor Theft
If the value of the property or services stolen is greater than $50 but less than $500, the punishment for a class B misdemeanor in Texas is a sentence of confinement in jail for a term of not more than 180 days and/or a fine of not more than $2,000. This also includes the theft of any form of identification.
Class A Misdemeanor Theft
If the value of the property or services stolen is more than $500 but less than $1,500, the punishment for a class A misdemeanor in Texas is a sentence of confinement in jail for a term of no more than one year and/or a fine of not more than $4,000.
Depending on the type of crime and value of the stolen items (ranging from $1500 and up), felony theft charges can result in incarceration lasting anywhere from 180 days to 99 years and/or fines up to $10,000.
What You Should Do:
The state of Texas does not mess around when it comes to theft charges, and neither should you. Many people facing theft charges in Arlington, Ft. Worth, Mansfield and surrounding areas do not realize they should have a Theft Lawyer until it is too late. A theft attorney can often find that a case was mishandled or settle a simple misunderstanding before it turns into a lifelong sorrow. Call a Tarrant County Theft Lawyer today and let me take care of this matter for you.