Family Violence Attorney
Texas family violence accusations can range from heated arguments to physical altercations. But if one party calls the police the situation can escalate quickly. Many Texans do not understand the repercussions of a family violence accusation until after the fact.
Those accused are often:
- unable to return home,
- have contact with their loved ones, and
- face long prison sentences and hefty fines.
Many people believe that if accusation of family violence is made, the accuser can later just “drop the charges”. This is simply not true. If you are arrested for Assault Family Member, you will likely be prosecuted so you need to contact a Tarrant County Assault Family Violence Lawyer.
What Exactly is Domestic Violence?
Domestic violence in Texas is defined by Penal Code, Title 5, Chapter 22, Section 22.01 as an assault against a family member, household member, or a current or past romantic partner including: intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing bodily injury to another person, intentionally or knowingly threatening another person with imminent bodily injury; or intentionally or knowingly causing physical contact with another. When police arrive on the scene of a domestic dispute, they must make judgements based on the safety of all parties. As a result, police will often err on the side of caution and proceed with domestic violence arrests.
Can Charges Be Dropped?
Once the situation has cooled, many people will look to drop the charges. However, once an arrest has been made, it is not up to the alleged victim to drop a domestic violence charge. The charges are filed by the state and handed over to a prosecutor. Your accuser will have no control over whether or not the prosecutor decides to charge you, but your attorney can discuss your options with the prosecutor on your behalf. This requires calling an Assault Family Member Lawyer at the onset of your case.
What Kind of Punishments Am I Facing?
Penalties for domestic violence are dependent on a number of things, including past convictions, the situation, the relationship between the parties involved and the level of contact. Penalties can
range from Class A to Class C misdemeanor to a first degree felony. Depending on a number of factors, this can result in one to 99 years in jail and up to $10,000 in fines.
What Can I Do to Help Myself?
The sooner you can involve an assault attorney that specializes in domestic violence cases, the better. These situations are often complicated and an accidental action or something done in self-defense can change your life. A Family Violence Lawyer can help you clarify the situation and your role in it, negotiate your hearing and trial and work with you to keep you from losing your freedom and family rights. Often people rely on hearsay or the advice of friends when facing domestic violence cases but only an Arlington Family Violence Attorney can put you on the best path for minimizing jail time and harsh fees.